The Moment Trump Officially Lost the Election

Andy Ostroy
3 min readNov 11, 2020

October 5, 2020. Mark it down as the day Donald Trump officially lost his bid for re-election.

That was the day he was released after three days from Walter Reed hospital after being treated for Covid-19. Upon his return to the White House he defiantly removed his mask, stood on the balcony before the press for a Mussolini-like photo-opp and then released a video urging Americans “don’t be afraid of it”, saying he “felt better than 20 years ago” and “don’t let it dominate your lives”.

But he could’ve said this instead:

“I want to apologize to the American people. I’m truly sorry I did not take Covid-19 as seriously as I should have. That I did not provide the absolute best leadership as we battled this deadly virus this year. I make no excuses. You deserved more from your president, and I feel like I’ve let you down.

Today I was released from the hospital after spending 3 days after testing positive for the virus. Let me tell you…I was pretty sick. My body…my lungs…were attacked. I was scared and not sure I’d make it. But I learned something those three days. Something that’s changed me profoundly.

The first is that this virus plays no favorites. It mercilessly attacks Democrats and Republicans alike. It doesn’t care if you live in a city or on a farm. Or if you’re

--

--

Andy Ostroy

Director, producer, podcaster, writer, resistor, non-profit-supporter of women filmmakers