Trump’s Sudden Covid “Pivot” This Week

Andy Ostroy
3 min readJul 25, 2020

Donald Trump finally muted his pathologically-lying sociopath act this week to ‘support’ mask-wearing and distancing. This after nearly seven months of turning Americans into two groups: those who believe science and those who don’t. As expected, many in the media jumped on the infuriatingly all-too-familiar ‘he’s finally acting presidential’ bandwagon yet again.

But make no mistake. The Gaslighter-in-Chief, who’s spent 4-million cases and 145,000 deaths mocking the deadly virus as a “democrat hoax”…and who’s said he doesn’t believe in masks, distancing and that “testing is overrated”…does not for one nanosecond believe a syllable of what’s he’s said this week. It’s purely about politics and his re-election. Period.

Below are highlights of Trump’s Corona Virus ‘task force briefing’ comments Thursday, run through the TrumpTranslation machine:

“I looked at my team and I said the timing for this event is not right. It’s just not right with what’s been happening” = ‘My team said to me, Sir, you’re not running against Biden, you’re running against Covid. And you’re losing. Big. BIG. You must at least pretend like you give a shit’ or it’s truly over’

“I said there’s nothing more important in our country than keeping our people safe” = ‘Actually, what’s more important to me is me…and making sure I win in

--

--

Andy Ostroy

Director, producer, podcaster, writer, resistor, non-profit-supporter of women filmmakers