What I Just Figured Out About Trump That Explains EVERYTHING…

Andy Ostroy
3 min readMar 16, 2024

I think I’ve finally figured out Donald Trump. I feel like I’ve unlocked the secret to his every decision. His every move. The one thing that drives him more than anything: his need to be the contrarian. The lone wolf. Mr. “I Alone”.

Trump’s psychotic pathology dictates that he must say “up” when everyone else says “down”. Black when everyone says white. Yes whenever everyone says no, and no when everyone says yes. Not because he believes up or black or yes or no is correct, logical or part of any core value he has. It’s simply because he cannot be part of a team. He does not know how to share…whether it’s a position, a stage and certainly not credit. “Collaboration” is not a word in his vocabulary nor is such an act of teamwork and selflessness part of his DNA. He achieves zero satisfaction from accomplishing something together with others.

Which is why if on a Monday he says “I’m for XYZ” and his Republican sycophants quickly kiss his ass and agree, he’ll on Tuesday flip flop and say “I’m actually against XYZ”.

Trump has an insatiable craving and need to always be the center of attention. To always be the one who’s right. The one who knows more about anything and everything than anyone. No matter how outlandish his positions or buffoonish his behavior.

--

--

Andy Ostroy

Director, producer, podcaster, writer, resistor, non-profit-supporter of women filmmakers