What Would Jesus Say?

Andy Ostroy
2 min readDec 25, 2019
The False Prophet

Donald Trump tweeted “Merry Christmas” this morning and then issued the following statement:

“…Together, we must strive to foster a culture of deeper understanding and respect — traits that exemplify the teachings of Christ.”

Excuse me, but I think I’m gonna vomit…because Trump and his First Cohort Melania are the very antithesis of everything Christ lived and died for. Everything.

I often wonder what Jesus would think if he were here today. What he’d say if he witnessed Trump’s vile behavior.

I think about the deliciously satisfying scene in ANNIE HALL when, on a movie line in the lobby, a pseudo-intellectual standing behind a clearly irritated Woody Allen waxes arrogantly to his date about the philosopher Marshall McLuhan and gets emotionally pulverized when Allen brilliantly has McLuhan step out from behind a poster to school him on his work. But in my fantasy, it’s Jesus who’d step forward and tell Trump…

“I heard what you were saying. You know nothing of my work…”

So what would Jesus actually say to Trump? I suspect he’d begin by reminding him of the obvious: love, honor, respect, decency, compassion, empathy, faith, forgiveness, sacrifice.

But perhaps he’d take it a step further. He’d assure Trump that he’s not The Chosen One. That he’s not a…

--

--

Andy Ostroy

Director, producer, podcaster, writer, resistor, non-profit-supporter of women filmmakers