Why I’m Supporting Joe Biden

Andy Ostroy
5 min readNov 27, 2019

I woke up with an epiphany this morning. I saw into the future, and I didn’t like what I saw.

It’s November 4, 2020. Donald Trump has been re-elected president. My America, and the beloved democracy on which it stands, was officially an autocracy. Maybe even a dictatorship. Trump now controlled the presidency, the Justice Department, the Senate and the military….without the fear and worry of impeachment, removal or another election. Chilling.

I woke up feeling sick to my stomach. Kinda like that same feeling I had the night of November 8, 2016. Except worse. Much worse. Because that night I started putting my faith in the American people and the rule of law. I set my sights on the next presidential election and the expectation that once we experienced four years of Trump the last thing we’d want is four more.

But I no longer have faith. I no longer believe my fellow Americans will do the right thing. I am terrified that Trump will somehow survive all of his massive political and legal crises and achieve his dream of totally destroying America.

(I’ll get to Joe Biden in a second…)

I believe Trump was elected because of racism, not “economic anxiety” or any other bogus motivation. I believe he knew that white, uneducated working-class men (and many women) were angry that America was becoming an…

--

--

Andy Ostroy

Director, producer, podcaster, writer, resistor, non-profit-supporter of women filmmakers